Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No. 1 – Martha Argerich

The Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23, was composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky between November 1874 and February 1875. It was revised in the summer of 1879 and again in December 1888. The first version received heavy criticism from Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky’s desired pianist. Rubinstein later repudiated his previous accusations and became a fervent champion of the work. It is one of the most popular of Tchaikovsky’s compositions and among the best known of all piano concertos. – Martha Argerich

Russian Music by Argerich

Prokofiev’s Sonata No. 7, Precipitato

Piano Sonata No. 7, third movement

Martha Argerich performs the third and last movement from Prokofiev's Sonata No. 7 in B-flat major

Prokofiev’s Toccata

Piano Toccata in D Minor

Prokofiev - Toccata in D Minor - Argerich, Piano

Shostakovich’s Piano Quintet

Piano Quintet in G Minor, V. Finale, Allegretto

Argerich, Bashmet, Maisky, Kraggerud, Bell play Shostakovich's Quintet

Concerto No. 1: Other Performances

Martha Argerich

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 - Martha Argerich, Piano

Yuja Wang

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 - Wang, Piano

Khatia Buniatishvili

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 - Buniatishvili, Piano