Mussorgsky – Pictures of an Exhibition – Buniatishvili, Piano

Pictures of an Exhibition is a suite of ten pieces (plus a recurring, varied Promenade) composed for piano by Russian composer Modest Mussorgsky. Mussorgsky based his musical material on drawings and watercolors by Hartmann produced mostly during the artist’s travels abroad. Locales include Italy, France, Poland, Russia, and Ukraine. Today most of the pictures from the Hartmann exhibition are lost, making it impossible to be sure in many cases which Hartmann works Mussorgsky had in mind. – Khatia Buniatishvili

Russian Music by Buniatishvili

Rachmaninoff’s Moment Musical No. 4

Moment Musical No. 4 in E Minor

Rachmaninoff - Moment Musical No 4 - Buniatishvili, Piano

Stravinsky’s Petrushka

Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka

Stravinsky - Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka - Buniatishvili, Piano

Tchaikovsky’s Concerto No. 1

Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 - Buniatishvili, Piano

Pictures of an Exhibition: Other Performance

Evgeny Kissin

More videos by Evgeny Kissin