Prokofiev – Piano Sonata No. 7 – Khatia Buniatishvili

Piano Sonata No. 7 in B-Flat Major, Op. 83 (1942) (occasionally called the “Stalingrad”) is the second of the three “War Sonatas” written by Sergei Prokofiev. The sonata was first performed on 18 January 1943 in Moscow by Sviatoslav Richter. Early in 1943, I received the score of the Seventh Sonata, which I found fascinating and which I learned in just four days…. The work was a huge success. The audience clearly grasped the spirit of the work, which reflected their innermost feelings and concerns. With this work we are brutally plunged into the anxiously threatening atmosphere of a world that has lost its balance. Chaos and uncertainty reign. We see murderous forces ahead.Khatia Buniatishvili

Russian Music by Buniatishvili

Rachmaninoff – Concerto No. 2

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor

Rachmaninoff - Concerto No 2 in C Minor- Khatia Buniatishvili, Piano

Stravinski – Petrushka

3 mouvements de Pétrouchka

Stravinsky - Trois Mouvements de Petrushka - Yuja Wang, Piano

Sonata No. 7: Other Performance

Maurizio Pollini (Precipitato)

More videos by Maurizio Pollini

Prokofiev - Sonata No 7, 3rd movement - Pollini, Piano

Grigory Sokolov (Precipitato)

More videos by Grigory Sokolov

Grigory Sokolov performs the third and last movement from Prokofiev's Sonata No. 7 in B-flat major

Yuja Wang (Precipitato)

More videos by Yuja Wang

Prokofiev - Sonata No 7, 3rd movement - Wang, Piano