Beethoven – Sonata No. 21 (Waldstein) – Horowitz, Piano

Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, known as the Waldstein, is one of the three most notable sonatas of his middle period (the other two being the Appassionata, Op. 57, and Les Adieux, Op. 81a). Completed in summer 1804 and surpassing Ludwig van Beethoven’s previous piano sonatas in its scope, the Waldstein is a key early work of Beethoven’s “Heroic” decade (1803–1812) and set a standard for piano composition in the grand manner. The sonata’s name derives from Beethoven’s dedication to his close friend and patron Count Ferdinand Ernst Gabriel von Waldstein of Vienna. – Vladimir Horowitz

Beethoven by Horowitz

Emperor Concerto

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-Flat Major

Beethoven - Emperor Concerto No. 5 - Vladimir Horowitz

Sonata No. 28

Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major

Beethoven - Sonata No. 28 - Vladimir Horowitz, Piano

Sonata No. 21 (Waldstein): Other Performance

Martha Argerich

More videos with Martha Argerich

Beethoven - Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major (Waldstein) - Argerich, Piano