Beethoven – Sonata No. 21 (Waldstein) – Argerich, Piano

Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major, Op. 53, known as the Waldstein, is one of the three most notable sonatas of his middle period (the other two being the Appassionata, Op. 57, and Les Adieux, Op. 81a). Completed in summer 1804 and surpassing Ludwig van Beethoven’s previous piano sonatas in its scope, the Waldstein is a key early work of Beethoven’s “Heroic” decade (1803–1812) and set a standard for piano composition in the grand manner. The sonata’s name derives from Beethoven’s dedication to his close friend and patron Count Ferdinand Ernst Gabriel von Waldstein of Vienna. – Martha Argerich

Beethoven by Argerich

Sonata No. 7

Piano Sonata No. 7 in D Major

Beethoven - Sonata No 7 in D Major - Argerich, Piano

Sonata No. 28

Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major

Beethoven - Piano Sonata No 28 in A Major - Argerich, Piano

Spring Sonata (Kremer)

Violin and Piano Sonata No. 5 in F Major

The violinist Gidon Kremer and the pianist Martha Argerich play the first movement of Beethoven's Violin Sonata No 5 in F major

Concerto No. 1

Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major

Martha Argerich plays Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major Op. 15

Sonata No. 21: Other Performance

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos with Vladimir Horowitz

Beethoven - Waldstein Sonata -Horowitz, Piano