Chopin – Prelude No. 8 – Trifonov, Piano

Chopin Prelude No 8, in F Sharp Minor, counters the calm simplicity of the seventh with a broad stream of sonority of peculiar beauty, diffused in rising and falling waves of airy figuration. Among its admirers was Witold Lutosławski, who called it a ‘wonder’.  Chopin 24 Preludes, Op. 28, are a set of short pieces for the piano, one in each of the twenty-four keys, originally published in 1839. Chopin wrote them between 1835 and 1839, partly at Valldemossa, Majorca, where he spent the winter of 1838–39 and where he had fled with George Sand and her children to escape the damp Paris weather. – Daniil Trifonov

Chopin by Trifonov

Prelude No. 3

Prelude No. 3 in G Major

The pianist Daniil Trifonov is performing Chopin's prelude No 3 in G major

Prelude No. 9

Prelude No. 9 in E Major

Chopin - Prelude No 9 in E major - Trifonov, Piano


Fantaisie Impromptu in C-Sharp Minor

Daniil Trifonov performs Chopin's Fantaisie-Impromptu for piano in C-sharp minor

Prelude No. 8: Other Performance

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Chopin - 24 Preludes for Piano Op 28 - Wang, Piano
Chopin – 24 Preludes for Piano Op 28 – Wang, Piano