Chopin – Prelude No. 8 – Yuja Wang, Piano

Chopin Prelude No. 8, in F-Sharp Minor, counters the calm simplicity of the seventh with a broad stream of sonority of peculiar beauty, diffused in rising and falling waves of airy figuration. Among its admirers was Witold Lutosławski, who called it a ‘wonder’.  Chopin 24 Preludes, Op. 28, are a set of short pieces for the piano, one in each of the twenty-four keys, originally published in 1839. Chopin wrote them between 1835 and 1839, partly at Valldemossa, Majorca, where he spent the winter of 1838–39 and where he had fled with George Sand and her children to escape the damp Paris weather – Yuja Wang

Prelude No. 8 : Other Performance

Daniil Trifonov

More videos by Daniil Trifonov

Chopin - Prelude No 8 in F-Sharp Minor

Chopin by Yuja Wang


Fantaisie-Impromptu in C-Sharp Minor

Chopin - Fantaisie-Impromptu in C-Sharp Minor - Yuja Wang, Piano

Polonaise Fantaisie

Polonaise Fantaisie in A-Flat major

Yuja Wang performs Chopin's Polonaise Fantaisie in A-flat major

Concerto No. 2

Piano Concerto No. 2 in F Minor

Chopin - Piano Concerto No 2 in F Minor - Wang, Piano