Ligeti – Etude No 4, Fanfares – Wang, Piano

4th piece from Book I, Fanfares is Ligeti’s Etude No 4 for piano and is dedicated to the German pianist Volker Banfield. György Ligeti composed a cycle of 18 études for solo piano between 1985 and 2001. They are considered one of the major creative achievements of his last decades, and one of the most significant sets of piano studies of the 20th century, combining virtuoso technical problems with expressive content, following in the line of the études of Frédéric Chopin, Franz Liszt, Claude Debussy, and Alexander Scriabin but addressing new technical ideas as a compendium of the concepts. – Yuja Wang

Ligeti by Wang

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice

Etude No. 10, Der Zauberlehrling

Ligeti - Etude 10, Der Zauberlehrling (The Sorcerer's Apprentice) - Wang, Piano


Etude No. 9, Vertige

Ligeti - Etude 9, Vertige - Wang, Piano

Fanfares: Other Performance

Idil Biret