Liszt – Feux Follets – Wang, Piano

Feux Follets (Wills o’ the Wisp) is the fifth étude of the set of twelve Transcendental Études by Franz Liszt. As with the other works in the Études but one, Feux Follets went through three versions, the first being Étude en douze exercices from 1826, the second being Douze études d’execution transcendante from 1837, and third, an 1851 revision of the 1837 set. It is this last version, from 1851, that is most often performed. Its rapid double-note passages in the right hand accompanied by wide broken intervals in the left are notoriously difficult to play.

Liszt by Wang

La Leggierezza

Yuja Wang plays La Leggiereza, one of Franz Liszt's Three Concert Etudes for piano
Concert Etude No. 2 in F Minor

Piano Sonata

Liszt - Piano Sonata in B Minor - Wang, Piano
Piano Sonata in B Minor

Concerto No. 1

Liszt - Piano Concerto No 1 in E-Flat Major - Yuja Wang, Piano
Piano Concerto No. 1 in E-Flat Major

Feux Follets: Other Performances


Liszt - Transcendental Etude No 5, Feux Follets - Buniatishvili, Piano
Khatia Buniatishvili


Liszt - Transcendental Étude No 5, Feux Follets - Pogorelich, Piano
Ivo Pogorelich


Liszt - Transcendental Étude No 5, Feux Follets - Trifonov, Piano
Daniil Trifonov

Yuja New Videos

Yuja Wang New Videos
Yuja Wang New Videos, official links (website, social network), and short biography