Ligeti – Etude No. 10, The Sorcerer’s Apprentice – Wang, Piano

4th piece from Book II, Der Zauberlehrling (The Sorcerer’s Apprentice) is Ligeti’s Etude No 10 for piano and is dedicated to the French pianist Pierre-Laurent Aimard. György Ligeti composed a cycle of 18 études for solo piano between 1985 and 2001. They are considered one of the major creative achievements of his last decades, and one of the most significant sets of piano studies of the 20th century, combining virtuoso technical problems with expressive content, following in the line of the études of Frédéric Chopin, Franz Liszt, Claude Debussy, and Alexander Scriabin but addressing new technical ideas as a compendium of the concepts. – Yuja Wang

Ligeti by Wang

The Sorcerer’s Apprentice: Other Performance


Etude No. 4, Book I – Fanfares

Ligeti - Etude No 4, Fanfares - Yuja Wang, Piano


Etude No. 9, Book II – Vertige

Ligeti - Etude 9, Vertige - Wang, Piano

Other Etudes by Yuja Wang


Etude Op. 10 No. 2 in A Minor

Chopin - Étude Op. 10 No. 2 in A Minor - Yuja Wang, Piano


Etude Tableau

Etude Tableau No. 1 in C Minor

Rachmaninoff - Etude Tableau No 1 in C Minor, Op 39 - Wang, Piano


Feux Follet

Transcendental Étude No 5 in B-Flat Major

Liszt - Transcendental Étude No 5, Feux Follets - Wang, Piano