Liszt – Funerailles – Vladimir Horowitz

Funérailles is the 7th and one of the most famous pieces in Harmonies poétiques et religieuses (Poetic and Religious Harmonies), a collection of piano pieces by Franz Liszt. It was an elegy written in October 1849 in response to the crushing of the Hungarian Revolution of 1848 by the Habsburgs. The piece is composed of four distinct sections, with three main themes repeating throughout. – Vladimir Horowitz

Liszt by Horowitz

Consolation No. 3

Consolation No. 3 in D Major

Vladimir Horowitz plays Franz Liszt's Consolation No. 3 in D-Flat Major

Funerailles: Other Performance

Martha Argerich

More videos with Martha Argerich

Liszt - Funerailles - Argerich, Piano