Prokofiev – Sonata No 7, 3rd movement – Sokolov, Piano

Sergei Prokofiev’s Piano Sonata No 7 in B-flat major, Op. 83 (1942) (occasionally called the “Stalingrad”) is the second of the three “War Sonatas”. The sonata was first performed on 18 January 1943 in Moscow by Sviatoslav Richter. The Precipitato finale is a toccata, which boldly affirms the key of the sonata through a more diatonic harmonic language than found in the first movement. – Grigory Sokolov

Sonata No 7: Other Performance

Maurizio Pollini

More videos with Maurizio Pollini

Prokofiev - Sonata No 7, 3rd movement - Pollini, Piano

Martha Argerich

More videos with Martha Argerich

Martha Argerich performs the third and last movement from Prokofiev's Sonata No. 7 in B-flat major