Schumann – Kreisleriana – Yuja Wang, Piano

Kreisleriana, Op. 16, is a composition in eight movements by Robert Schumann for solo piano, subtitled Phantasien für das Pianoforte. It was written in only four days in April 1838 and a revised version appeared in 1850. In 1839, soon after publishing it, Schumann called it in a letter my favorite work, remarking that The title conveys nothing to any but Germans. The work’s title was inspired by the character of Johannes Kreisler from works of E. T. A. Hoffmann.  – Yuja Wang

Schumann by Wang

The Smuggler

Der Kontrabandiste, transcription by Carl Tausig.

Yuja Wang performs The Smuggler (Der Kontrabandiste) from Robert Schumann, arranged for piano solo by Carl Tausig.

Piano Concerto

Piano Concerto in A Minor

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Yuja Wang


Quintet with piano in E-Flat Major

Yuja wang and the Shanghai Quartet play Schumann's Piano Quintett in E-Flat Major

Kreisleriana: Other Performance

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos with Vladimir Horowitz

Schumann - Kreisleriana - Vladimir Horowitz, piano