Schumann – Concerto in A Minor – Yuja Wang, Piano

The Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54 was completed in the year 1845 and is the only piano concerto written by the German Romantic composer Robert Schumann. The work was premiered in Dresden on December 4, 1845. Schumann had earlier worked on several piano concerti: he began one in E-flat major in 1828, from 1829–31 he worked on one in F major, and in 1839, he wrote one movement of a concerto in D minor. None of these works were completed. – Yuja Wang

Schumann by Wang

The Smuggler

The Smuggler (Der Kontrabandiste), Tausig’s transcription

Yuja Wang performs The Smuggler (Der Kontrabandiste) from Robert Schumann, arranged for piano solo by Carl Tausig.


Kreisleriana in 8 movements

Schumann - Kreisleriana - Wang, Piano

Concerto in A Minor: Other Performances

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Yuja Wang performs Schumann's piano concerto in A minor

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Grimaud, Piano

Martha Argerich

More videos by Martha Argerich

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Argerich, Piano