Rachmaninoff – Concerto No. 2 – Yuja Wang

Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor, Op. 18, was composed between the autumn of 1900 and April 1901. The second and third movements were first performed with Sergei Rachmaninoff as soloist on 2 December 1900. The complete work was premiered, again with the composer as soloist, on 9 November 1901, with his cousin Alexander Siloti conducting, and was enthusiastically received. The second concerto earned the composer a Glinka Award, the first of five awarded to him throughout his life, and a 500-rouble prize in 1904. The positive reception was a significant catalyst in the advancement of his recovery from continual depression. – Yuja Wang

Rachmaninoff by Wang

Prelude No. 5

Prelude No. 5 in G Minor

Rachmaninov - Prelude Op. 23 No 5 in G minor - Wang, pianist


Vocalise, transcription for piano

The Chinese pianist Yuja Wang performs Sergei Rachmaninov's Vocalise in an arrangement for piano solo

Concerto No. 3

Piano Concerto No. 3 in D Minor

Rachmaninoff - Piano Concerto No 3 in D Minor- Wang, Piano

Concerto No. 2: Other Performances

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Rachmaninoff - Concerto No 2 in C Minor- Wang, Piano

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Rachmaninoff - Concerto No. 2 - Grimaud, Piano; Abbado, Conductor

Grigory Sokolov

More videos by Grigory Sokolov

Rachmaninoff - Concerto No. 2 in C Minor- Sokolov, Piano

Khatia Buniatishvili

More videos by Khatia Buniatishvili

Rachmaninoff - Concerto No 2 in C Minor- Khatia Buniatishvili, Piano