Schumann – Piano Quintet – Wang, Shanghai String Quartet

The Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major, Op. 44, by Robert Schumann was composed in 1842 and received its first public performance the following year. Noted for its “extroverted, exuberant” character, Schumann’s piano quintet is considered one of his finest compositions and a major work of nineteenth-century chamber music. Composed for piano and string quartet, the work revolutionized the instrumentation and musical character of the piano quintet and established it as a quintessentially Romantic genre. – Yuja Wang

Schumann by Wang

The Smuggler

The Smuggler, transcription by Carl Tausig

Yuja Wang performs The Smuggler (Der Kontrabandiste) from Robert Schumann, arranged for piano solo by Carl Tausig.


Piano Concerto in A Minor

Yuja Wang performs Schumann's piano concerto in A minor


Kreisleriana for piano in height movements

Schumann - Kreisleriana - Wang, Piano

Schumann’s Quintet: Other Version

Martha Argerich

More videos by Martha Argerich

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Argerich, Piano, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Grimaud, Capuçon, Shoji, Tomter, Maisky