The Carnival of the Animals (Saint-Saëns) – Wang, Fung

The Carnival of the Animals (Le carnaval des animaux) is a humorous musical suite of fourteen movements by the French Romantic composer Camille Saint-Saëns. The work was written for private performance by an ad hoc ensemble of two pianos and other instruments, and lasts around 25 minutes. The finale was set to comical animation of a flamingo playing with a yo-yo to the irritation of his fellow avians in a segment of the Walt Disney Animation Studios animated feature Fantasia 2000. – Yuja Wang

There are 14 pieces, each one is dedicated to an animal:

  1. Introduction and Royal March of the Lion
  2. Hens and Roosters
  3. Wild Donkeys Swift Animals
  4. Tortoises
  5. The Elephant
  6. Kangaroos
  7. Aquarium
  8. Characters with Long Ears
  9. The Cuckoo in the Depths of the Woods
  10. Aviary
  11. Pianists
  12. Fossils
  13. The Swan
  14. Finale

Carnival of the Animals: Fantasia 2000 (Disney)

From Disney’s Fantasia 2000, Saint-Saens’s The Carnival of the Animals, 14th and last piece

“Finale”: Pink Flamingos + Yoyo = Lot of Fun !!!

From Disney's Fantasia 2000, Saint-Saens's The Carnival of the Animals, 14th and last piece

The Carnival of the Animals: Other Performance

Martha Argerich

More videos by Martha Argerich

Saint-Saens- The Carnival of the Animals - Argerich