Rachmaninoff – Prelude No. 5 in G Minor – Sokolov, Piano

Rachmaninov’s Prelude No. 5 in G Minor, Op. 23, was completed in 1901. It was included in his Opus 23 set of ten preludes, despite having been written two years earlier than the other nine. Rachmaninov himself premiered the piece in Moscow on February 10, 1903, along with Preludes No. 1 and 2 from Op. 23. – Grigory Sokolov

Rachmaninoff’s Prelude No 5: others performances

Rachmaninoff (audio only)

Yuja Wang

Rachmaninov - Prelude Op. 23 No 5 in G minor - Wang, pianist