Prokofiev – Toccata in D Minor – Martha Argerich, Piano

The Toccata in D Minor Op. 11 for solo piano was written by Sergei Prokofiev in 1912 and debuted by the composer on December 10, 1916 in Petrograd. It is a further development of the toccata form, which has been used by composers such as Johann Sebastian Bach and Robert Schumann. Other composers of well-known toccatas include Maurice Ravel, Dmitri Kabalevsky and Aram Khachaturian. – Martha Argerich

Prokofiev by Argerich

Sonata No 7, 3rd movement

Sonata No. 7 in B-Flat Major, Precipitato

Martha Argerich performs the third and last movement from Prokofiev's Sonata No. 7 in B-flat major

Concerto No. 3

Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major

Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No 3 in C Major - Argerich, Piano

Prokofiev’s Toccata: Other Performances

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos by Vladimir Horowitz

Prokofiev - Toccata in D Minor - Horowitz, Piano

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Prokofiev - Toccata in D minor - Wang, Piano