Brahms – Piano Concerto No. 2 – Khatia Buniatishvili

The Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major, Op. 83, by Johannes Brahms is separated by a gap of 22 years from his first piano concerto. Brahms began work on the piece in 1878 and completed it in 1881 while in Pressbaum near Vienna. It is dedicated to his teacher, Eduard Marxsen. The public premiere of the concerto was given in Budapest on 9 November 1881, with Brahms as soloist and the Budapest Philharmonic Orchestra, and was an immediate success. – Khatia Buniatishvili

Brahms by Buniatishvili

Hungarian Dance No. 1 (Buniatishvili, Wang)

Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G Minor

The pianist Yuja Wang and Khatia Buniatishvilli are performing Brahms' first Hungarian Dance.

Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 2

Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 2 in B-Flat Minor

Brahms - Intermezzo Op 117 No 2 - Buniatishvili, Piano

Concerto No. 2: Other Performances

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Brahms - Piano Concerto No. 2 - Grimaud, Piano

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Brahms - Piano Concerto No. 2 - Wang, Piano