Chopin – Cello Sonata – Capuçon, Cello; Wang, Piano

The Cello Sonata in G minor, Op. 65, was written by Frédéric Chopin in 1846. It is one of only nine works of Chopin published during his lifetime that were written for instruments other than piano (although the piano still appears in every work he wrote). Chopin composed four sonatas, the others being piano sonatas. The cello sonata was the last of Chopin’s works to be published in his lifetime. The sonata was written for and dedicated to Auguste Franchomme. – Gautier CapuçonYuja Wang

Piano and Cello: Other Work

Rachmaninoff – Sonata for Cello & Piano

Sonata in G Minor – Gautier Capuçon Cello, Yuja Wang Piano

Rachmaninoff - Sonata for Cello & Piano in G Minor - Capuçon Cello, Wang Piano

Rachmaninoff – Vocalise

Transcription for cello and piano – Gautier Capuçon, Yuja Wang

Yuja Wang and Renaud Capuçon perform Sergei Rachmaninov's Vocalise in an arrangement for piano and cello.

Cello Sonata: Other Performance

Mstislav Rostropovitch, Martha Argerich