Chopin – Prelude No. 15 (Raindrop) – Sokolov, Piano

One of Frédéric Chopin most famous masterpiece, the Prelude No. 15 in D-Flat Major, nicknamed “Raindrop”, strikes one at first as an oasis of peace and calm. However, the transition from the bright key of D flat major to the tenebrous C sharp minor brings dark, gloomy, disturbing sonorities. In the semantic interpretation of George Sand, this is the moment when ‘the ghosts of dead monks walk in mournful procession’. Chopin himself – adding the word ‘rainy’ to a pupil’s copy of this music – drew attention to another aspect of this work, namely the relentlessness and monotony with which a single note (always the same) resounds throughout the whole prelude, evoking imitative associations. – Grigory Sokolov

Other Prelude by Sokolov

Prelude No. 4

Prelude No. 4 in E Minor

Chopin - Prelude No 4 in E Minor - Sokolov, Piano

Prelude No 15: Other Performances

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Chopin - 24 Preludes for Piano Op 28 - Wang, Piano

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Chopin - Prelude No 15 in D-Flat Major - Grimaud, Piano