Dance of the Blessed Spirits (Gluck/Sgambati) – Wang, Piano

Dance of the Blessed Spirits is a melody from Orpheus and Eurydice, an opera composed by Christoph Willibald Gluck, based on the myth of Orpheus and set to a libretto by Ranieri de’ Calzabigi. It belongs to the genre of the azione teatrale, meaning an opera on a mythological subject with choruses and dancing. The opera is the most popular of Gluck’s works, and was one of the most influential on subsequent German operas. Giovanni Sgambati (May 28, 1841 – December 14, 1914) was an Italian pianist and composer. – Yuja Wang

Dance of the Blessed Spirits: Other Performance

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Gluck / Sgambati - Dance of the Blessed Spirits - Grimaud, Piano

Ginette Neveu, Violin

The French violonist Ginette Neveu performs Gluck's Dance of the Blessed Spirits from his Opera, Orfeo ed Euridice

Others Dances by Wang

Brahms, Dance No. 1

Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G Minor

The pianist Yuja Wang and Khatia Buniatishvilli are performing Brahms' first Hungarian Dance.

Stravinsky – Petrushka, Russian dance

Trois mouvements de Petrushka, No. 1

Leonidas Kavakos and Yuja Wang perform the Russian Dance from Stravinsky's Trois mouvements de Petrouchka