Stravinsky – Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka – Sokolov, Piano

Trois mouvements de Petrouchka is an arrangement for piano of music from the ballet Petrushka by the composer Igor Stravinsky for the pianist Arthur Rubinstein. Stravinsky is very explicit in stating that the movements are not transcriptions. He was not trying to reproduce the sound of the orchestra, but instead wished to compose a score which would be essentially pianistic even though its musical material was drawn directly from the ballet. – Grigory Sokolov

1st mouvement: Russian Dance

2nd mouvement: Petrushka’s Room

3rd mouvement: The Shrovetide Fair

Russian Dance, Piano and Violin

Kavakos – Wang

Leonidas Kavakos and Yuja Wang perform the Russian Dance from Stravinsky's Trois mouvements de Petrouchka

Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka, Other Performance

Daniil Trifonov

More videos by Daniil Trifonov

Stravinsky - Trois Mouvements de Petrouchka - Trifonov, Piano