Bach-Busoni – Chaconne in D Minor – Grimaud, Piano

The Chaconne in D Minor from Johann Sebastian Bach is the fifth and last movement of its Partita No 2 in D minor for solo violin (BWV 1004), written between 1717 and 1720. It is a part of his compositional cycle called Sonatas and Partitas for Solo Violin. The Chaconne is written in the form of variations, and lasts approximately as long as the first four movements combined. Yehudi Menuhin called the Chaconne “the greatest structure for solo violin that exists”. Since Bach’s time, several transcriptions of the piece have been made for other instruments, particularly for the piano (including those by Ferruccio Busoni, Alexander Siloti, and Joachim Raff), and for the piano left-hand (by Johannes Brahms and Géza Zichy).

Bach by Grimaud

Prelude No  1

Bach - Prelude No 1 in C Major BWV 846 - Grimaud, Piano
Prelude No 1 in C Major 

Bach/Liszt – Prelude and Fugue

Bach-Liszt - Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543 - Grimaud, Piano
Prelude and Fugue in A Minor

Concerto No 1

Bach - Harpsichord Concerto No 1 - Grimaud, Piano
Harpsichord Concerto No 1 in D Minor

Hélène New Videos

Hélène Grimaud
Hélène Grimaud New Videos, official links (website, social medias) and biography