Bach – Prelude No. 1, Book I – Grimaud, Piano

The Prelude No. 1 in C Major, BWV 846, is a keyboard composition written by Johann Sebastian Bach. It is the first prelude in the first book of The Well-Tempered Clavier, a collection of two sets of preludes and fugues in all 24 major and minor keys. Both books of the Well-Tempered Clavier were widely circulated in manuscript, but printed copies were not made until 1801, by three publishers almost simultaneously in Bonn, Leipzig and Zurich. An early version of the prelude, BWV 846A, is found in the Klavierbüchlein für Wilhelm Friedemann Bach. – Hélène Grimaud

Bach by Grimaud

Prelude No. 3, Book II

Prelude No. 3 in C-Sharp Major, Book II

Bach - Prelude No 4, Book II - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Bach-Busoni, Chaconne

Chaconne in D Minor, piano transcription

Bach, Busoni - Chaconne in D Minor BWV 1004 - Grimaud, Piano

Bach-Liszt, Prelude and Fugue

Prelude and Fugue BWV 543, piano transcription

Bach-Liszt - Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543 - Grimaud, Piano

Prelude No. 1, Other Performance

Xuefei Yang, Guitar

The Chinese guitarist Xuefei Yang performs Bach's Prelude No. 1 in C major from the first book of The Well-Tempered Clavier

Maurizio Pollini

More videos by Maurizio Pollini

Bach - Prelude No. 1 in C Major BWV 846 - Maurizio Pollini, Piano