Bach – Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 – Grimaud, Piano

The Harpsichord Concerto No. 1 in D minor, BWV 1052, is Johannes Sebastian Bach first harpsichord concerto. Like the other harpsichord concertos, BWV 1052 is generally believed to be a transcription of a lost concerto composed in Cöthen or Weimar and many scholars suggested that the original melody instrument was probably the violin, because of the many violinistic figurations in the solo part. The concerto has similarities with Vivaldi’s highly virtuosic Grosso Mogul violin concerto, RV 208, which Bach had previously transcribed for solo organ in BWV 594. It has 3 movements: I. Allegro II. Adagio III. Allegro. – Hélène Grimaud

Bach by Grimaud

Prelude No. 1

Prelude No. 1 in C Major, The Well Tempered Clavier, Book I

Bach - Prelude No 1 in C Major BWV 846 - Grimaud, Piano

Bach-Busoni, Chaconne

Chaconne in D Minor for violin (Partita No. 2), piano transcription by Busoni

Bach, Busoni - Chaconne in D Minor BWV 1004 - Grimaud, Piano

Prelude and Fugue in A Minor

Bach – Prelude and Fugue in A Minor for organ, piano transcription by Franz Liszt

Bach-Liszt - Prelude and Fugue in A Minor, BWV 543 - Grimaud, Piano

Harpsichord Concerto No. 1: Other Performance

Glenn Gould

Glenn Gould, piano, and Leonard Bernstein, conductor, perform Bach harpsichord concerto No. 1 in D minor