Chopin – Grande Polonaise Brillante – Argerich, Piano

In 1834, Frédéric Chopin wrote an Andante Spianato in G Major, for piano solo, which he added to the start of the Grande Polonaise Brillante in E-flat Major and joined the two parts with a fanfare-like sequence. The Grande Polonaise Brillante in E-flat, set for piano and orchestra, was written first, in 1830-31. The combined work was published in 1836, and was dedicated to Madame d’Este. The Grande Polonaise Brillante is a work for piano and orchestra, although the piano part is often played on its own. The Andante spianato (spianato means “even” or “smooth”) for solo piano was composed as an introduction to the polonaise after Chopin received a long-awaited invitation to perform in one of Habeneck’s Conservatoire Concerts in Paris. This was the only time Chopin had ever used the term spianato as a description for any of his works. – Martha Argerich

Andante Spianato

Martha Argerich

Andante Spianato in G Major

Martha Argerich plays Chopin's Andante Spianato

Other Polonaise by Martha Argerich

Polonaise Heroic

Polonaise No. 6 in A-Flat Major

The pianist Martha Argerich is performing Chopin's Polonaise Heroic No. 6 in A-flat major

Introduction and Polonaise Brillante

Argerich Piano, Rostropovich Cello

Introduction and Polonaise Brillante in C Major

Martha Argerich and Mstislav Rostropovich play Chopin's Introduction and Polonaise brillante for piano and cello

Grande Polonaise Brillante: Other Performance

Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli

More videos by Arturo Benedetti Michelangeli