Tchaikovsky – Piano Concerto No. 1 – Martha Argerich

The Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor, Op. 23, was composed by Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky between November 1874 and February 1875. It was revised in the summer of 1879 and again in December 1888. The first version received heavy criticism from Nikolai Rubinstein, Tchaikovsky’s desired pianist. Rubinstein later repudiated his previous accusations and became a fervent champion of the work. It is one of the most popular of Tchaikovsky’s compositions and among the best known of all piano concertos. – Martha Argerich

Concerto No. 1: Other Performances

Martha Argerich

More videos by Martha Argerich

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-Flat Minor - Martha Argerich

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 - Wang, Piano

Khatia Buniatishvili

More videos by Khatia Buniatishvili

Tchaikovsky - Piano Concerto No 1 - Buniatishvili, Piano

Russian Music by Argerich

Prokofiev’s Sonata No 7, Precipitato

Sonata No. 7 in B-Flat Major

Martha Argerich performs the third and last movement from Prokofiev's Sonata No. 7 in B-flat major

Prokofiev’s Toccata

Toccata in D Minor

Prokofiev - Toccata in D Minor - Argerich, Piano

Shostakovich’s Quintet

Piano Quintet in G Minor

Argerich, Bashmet, Maisky, Kraggerud, Bell play Shostakovich's Quintet