Prokofiev – Piano Concerto No. 3 – Yuja Wang

Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major, Op 26, was completed in 1921. Sergei Prokofiev began his work on the concerto as early as 1913 when he wrote a theme with variations which he then set aside. Although he revisited the sketches in 1916–17, he did not fully devote himself to the project until 1921. Prokofiev himself played the solo part at the premiere on 16 December 1921 in Chicago with the Chicago Symphony Orchestra conducted by Frederick Stock. – Yuja Wang

I. Andante – Allegro – 00:30
II. Tema con variazioni (in E minor) – 09:57
III. Allegro, ma non troppo – 19:50

Prokofiev by Wang

Concerto No. 2

Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor

Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No 2 in G Minor - Wang, Piano


Toccata in D Minor

Prokofiev - Toccata in D minor - Wang, Piano

Sonata No. 7, Precipitato

Piano Sonata No. 7 in B-Flat Major

Prokofiev - Sonata No 7, 3rd movement - Wang, Piano

Concerto No. 3: Other Performance

Martha Argerich

More videos by Martha Argerich

Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No 3 in C Major - Argerich, Piano

One Comment on “Prokofiev – Piano Concerto No. 3 – Yuja Wang”

  1. I am an avid listener of classical music. Particularly when it is played with natural superiority, which of course this Lady has full command. I have never heard classical music played so beautifully in all the years (I’m eighty next month.)I have enjoyed the classics. One day I may just manage to attend one of Yuja’s concerts in London, or wherever she might play in England.
    Looking forward to continued listening time from the Brilliant Yuja Wang.

Comments are closed.