Rachmaninoff – Piano Sonata No. 2 – Hélène Grimaud

Piano Sonata No. 2, Op. 36, in B-Flat Minor, was composed by Sergei Rachmaninov in 1913. Rachmaninoff revised it in 1931, with the note, “The new version, revised and reduced by author.” Three years after his third piano concerto was finished, Rachmaninoff moved with his family to a house in Rome that Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky had used and started working on the sonata. However, because both of his daughters contracted typhoid fever, Rachmaninoff moved his family on to Berlin in order to consult with doctors. When the girls were well enough, Rachmaninoff traveled with his family back to his Ivanovka country estate, where he finished the second piano sonata. – Hélène Grimaud

Rachmaninoff by Grimaud

Concerto No. 2

Piano Concerto No. 2 in C Minor

Rachmaninoff - Concerto No 2 - Grimaud, Piano; Abbado, Conductor

Prelude No. 12

Prelude No. 12 in G-Sharp Minor

Rachmaninoff - Prelude No 12 in G-sharp minor - Grimaud, Piano

Sonata No. 2: Other Performance

Yuja Wang

More videos with Yuja Wang

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos with Vladimir Horowitz