Schumann – Fantasiestucke: Des Abends, Aufschwung – Argerich, Piano

Des Abends (In the Evening) and Aufschwung (Soaring) are the first two pieces from Fantasiestücke, Op. 12, a set of eight pieces for piano, written in 1837 by Robert Schumann. The title was inspired by the 1814–15 collection of novellas, essays, treatises, letters, and writings about music, Fantasiestücke in Callots Manier (which also included the complete Kreisleriana, another source of inspiration for Schumann) by one of his favourite authors, E. T. A. Hoffmann. Schumann dedicated the pieces to Fräulein Anna Robena Laidlaw, an accomplished and attractive 18-year-old Scottish pianist with whom Schumann had become good friends. – Martha Argerich

Schumann by Argerich


Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood) No. 7 in F Major

Martha Argerich performs Träumerei, the 7th piece from Robert Schumann's Kinderszenen

Of Foreing Lands and People

Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood) No. 1 in G Major

The pianist Martha Argerich performs Of Foreing Lands and People from Scenes of Childhood (Kinderszenen) composed by Robert Schumann

Piano Quintet

Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Argerich, Piano, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra