Schumann – Piano Quintet – Argerich, Piano; Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

The Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major, Op. 44, by Robert Schumann was composed in 1842 and received its first public performance the following year. Noted for its “extroverted, exuberant” character, Schumann’s piano quintet is considered one of his finest compositions and a major work of nineteenth-century chamber music. Composed for piano and string quartet, the work revolutionized the instrumentation and musical character of the piano quintet and established it as a quintessentially Romantic genre. – Martha Argerich

Schumann by Argerich

Of Foreign Lands and People

Scenes of Childhood (Kinderszenen) No. 1 in G Major

The pianist Martha Argerich performs Of Foreing Lands and People from Scenes of Childhood (Kinderszenen) composed by Robert Schumann

Fantasiestucke 1 and 2

Des Abends in D-Flat Major, Aufschwung in F Minor

Schumann - Fantasiestucke: Des Abends, Aufschwung - Argerich, Piano

Dreaming (Träumerei)

Scenes of Childhood (Kinderszenen) No. 7 in F Major

Martha Argerich performs Träumerei, the 7th piece from Robert Schumann's Kinderszenen

Piano Quintet: Other Performance

Hélène Grimaud

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Grimaud, Capuçon, Shoji, Tomter, Maisky