Schumann – Piano Concerto in A Minor – Martha Argerich

The Piano Concerto in A minor, Op. 54 was completed in the year 1845 and is the only piano concerto written by the German Romantic composer Robert Schumann. The work was premiered in Dresden on December 4, 1845. Schumann had earlier worked on several piano concerti: he began one in E-flat major in 1828, from 1829–31 he worked on one in F major, and in 1839, he wrote one movement of a concerto in D minor. None of these works were completed. The premiere of the first movement (Phantasie) took place on 13 August 1841 at the Gewandhaus in Leipzig with Clara Schumann as the soloist. The complete three-movement version was premiered in Dresden on 4 December 1845, again with Clara Schumann, and the dedicatee Ferdinand Hiller as the conductor.

Other Performance by Argerich

2014, Conductor Riccardo Chailly

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Argerich, Piano
Martha Argerich

Schumann by Argerich

Fantasiestucke: In the Evening, Soaring

Schumann - Fantasiestucke: Des Abends, Aufschwung - Martha Argerich, Piano
Fantasiestucke No. 1 et 2. Des Abends, Aufschwung

Of Foreing Lands and People

Schumann - Kinderszenen, Of Foreing Lands and People - Martha Argerich, Piano
Kinderszenen, Von fremden Ländern und Menschen


Martha Argerich plays Schumann's Kreisleriana
Kreisleriana Op. 16


Schumann - Kinderszenen, Träumerei - Martha Argerich, Piano
Kinderszenen (Scenes from Childhood) No. 7, Träumerei

Piano Quintet

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Argerich, Piano, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra
Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major

Piano Concerto: Others Performances


Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Grimaud, Piano
Hélène Grimaud


Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Buniatishvili, Piano
Khatia Buniatishvili

Martha New Videos

Martha Argerich
Martha Argerich New Videos and links (on tour, social medias).