Schumann – Piano Quintet – Grimaud, Capuçon, Shoji, Tomter, Maisky

The Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major, Op. 44, by Robert Schumann was composed in 1842 and received its first public performance the following year. Noted for its “extroverted, exuberant” character, Schumann’s piano quintet is considered one of his finest compositions and a major work of nineteenth-century chamber music. Composed for piano and string quartet, the work revolutionized the instrumentation and musical character of the piano quintet and established it as a quintessentially Romantic genre. – Hélène Grimaud

Schumann by Grimaud


Piano Concerto in A Minor

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Grimaud, Piano


Kreisleriana for piano in height movements

Schumann - Kreisleriana I (Auberst Bewegt) - Grimaud, Piano

Schumann’s Quintet: Other Version

Martha Argerich

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Argerich, Piano, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Yuja Wang

Yuja wang and the Shanghai Quartet play Schumann's Piano Quintett in E-Flat Major