Schumann – Kreisleriana I (Auberst Bewegt) – Grimaud, Piano

Kreisleriana, Op. 16, is a composition in eight movements by Robert Schumann for solo piano, subtitled Phantasien für das Pianoforte. It was written in only four days in April 1838 and a revised version appeared in 1850. In 1839, soon after publishing it, Schumann called it in a letter my favorite work, remarking that The title conveys nothing to any but Germans. The work’s title was inspired by the character of Johannes Kreisler from works of E. T. A. Hoffmann. – Hélène Grimaud

Schumann by Grimaud


Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Grimaud, Capuçon, Shoji, Tomter, Maisky


Piano Concerto in A Minor

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Grimaud, Piano

Kreisleriana by Grimaud

II. Sehr Inning Und Nicht Zu Rasch

Schumann - Kreisleriana II (Sehr Inning Und Nicht Zu Rasch) - Grimaud, Piano

III. Sehr Aufgeregt

Schumann - Kreisleriana III (Sehr Aufgeregt) - Grimaud, Piano

IV. Sehr Langsam

Schumann - Kreisleriana IV (Sehr Langsam) - Grimaud, Piano

V. Sehr Lebhaft

Schumann - Kreisleriana V (Sehr Lebhaft) - Grimaud, Piano

VI. Sehr Langsam

Schumann - Kreisleriana VI (Sehr Langsam) - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

VII. Sehr Rasch

Schumann - Kreisleriana VII (Sehr Rasch) - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

VIII. Schnell Und Spielend

Schumann - Kreisleriana VIII (Schnell Und Spielend) - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Kreisleriana: Other Performances

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos by Vladimir Horowitz

Schumann - Kreisleriana - Vladimir Horowitz, piano

Martha Argerich

More videos by Martha Argerich

Martha Argerich plays Schumann's Kreisleriana

Yuja Wang

More videos by Yuja Wang

Schumann - Kreisleriana - Wang, Piano

Daniil Trifonov

More videos by Daniil Trifonov

Schumann - Kreisleriana - Trifonov, Piano