Beethoven – Choral Fantasy – Argerich, Piano; Ozawa, Conductor

The Fantasy (Fantasia) for piano, vocal soloists, chorus, and orchestra, Op. 80, usually called the Choral Fantasy, was composed in 1808 by Ludwig van Beethoven. Beethoven intended the Fantasy to serve as the concluding work for the benefit concert he put on for himself on 22 December 1808; the performers consisted of vocal soloists, chorus, an orchestra, and Beethoven himself as piano soloist. The Fantasy was designed to include all the participants in the program and thus unites all of these musical forces. The work is noted as a kind of forerunner to the later Ninth Symphony. – Martha Argerich

Beethoven by Argerich

Concerto No. 1

Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major

Martha Argerich plays Beethoven's Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major Op. 15

Spring Sonata

Violin and Piano Sonata No. 5  in F Major

The violinist Gidon Kremer and the pianist Martha Argerich play the first movement of Beethoven's Violin Sonata No 5 in F major

Choral Fantasy: Other Performance

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Beethoven - Choral Fantasy - Grimaud, Piano