Beethoven – Spring Sonata – Kremer, Violin; Argerich, Piano

Beethoven’s Violin Sonata No. 5 in F Major, Opus 24, was published in 1801. It is often known as the Spring Sonata. This name of Spring Sonata was given to it after Ludwig van Beethoven‘s death. The work is in four movements and begins by an Allegro. Beethoven initially intended to pair this piece with his Violin Sonata No. 4, Opus 23. As Joseph Szigeti noted, the two pieces complement each other in both key and character. – Martha Argerich

II. Adagio molto expressivo

III. Allegro molto

IV. Allegro ma non troppo

Beethoven’s Violin and Piano Sonatas

Kreutzer Sonata – Kremer, Argerich

Sonata No. 9 in A Major

The violonist Gidon Kremer and the pianist Martha Argerich perform Beethoven's Sonata No. 9 for violin and piano, A Kreutzer

No. 8 – Capuçon, Argerich

Sonata No. 8 in G Major

Renaud Capuçon and Martha Argerich play Beethoven's Violin and Piano Sonata No. 8 in G Major, Op. 30 No. 3