Brahms – Piano Concerto No. 1 – Yuja Wang

The Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor, Op. 15, is a work for piano and orchestra completed by Johannes Brahms in 1858. Brahms’ biographers often note that the first sketches for the dramatic opening movement followed quickly on the heels of the 1854 suicide attempt of the composer’s dear friend and mentor, Robert Schumann, an event which caused great anguish for Brahms. He finally completed the concerto two years after Schumann’s death in 1856. The composer gave the work’s public debut in Hanover, the following year. It was his first-performed orchestral work, and (in its third performance) his first orchestral work performed to audience approval. Brahms also wrote a two-piano arrangement, which was essentially the original score before orchestration. In 1864 he made a four-hands arrangement for one piano.

Brahms by Wang

Concerto No. 2

Brahms - Piano Concerto No 2 - Wang, Piano
Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major

Hungarian Dance No. 1 (Wang, Buniatishvili)

The pianist Yuja Wang and Khatia Buniatishvilli are performing Brahms' first Hungarian Dance.
Hungarian Dance No. 1 in G Minor

Intermezzo Op. 118 No. 2 (Wang, Ottensamer)

Brahms - Intermezzo Op 118 No 2 - Wang, Piano; Ottensamer, Clarinet
Intermezzo Op 118 No. 2 in A Major

Concerto No. 1: Other Performance


Brahms - Piano Concerto No 1 - Grimaud, Piano
Brahms – Piano Concerto No 1 – Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Wang New Videos

Yuja Wang New Videos
Yuja Wang New Videos, official links (website, social network), and biography