Grieg – Cello Sonata – Maisky, Cello; Argerich, Piano

Edvard Grieg composed the Cello Sonata in A minor, Op. 36 for cello and piano, and his only work for this combination, in 1882–83, marking a return to composition following a period when he had been preoccupied with his conducting duties at the Bergen Symphony Orchestra as well as illness. Grieg dedicated the piece to his brother, John, a keen amateur cellist – Martha ArgerichMischa Maisky

Piano and Cello: Other Work

Chopin – Introduction and Polonaise brillante

Martha Argerich, Piano; Mstislav Rostropovich, Cello

Martha Argerich and Mstislav Rostropovich play Chopin's Introduction and Polonaise brillante for piano and cello

Schumann – Adagio and Allegro

Martha Argerich, Piano; Mischa Maisky, Cello

Schumann - Adagio and Allegro - Argerich, Piano; Maisky, Cello

Cello Sonata: Other Performance

Gautier Capuçon, Yuja Wang

More videos by Gautier CapuçonMore videos by Yuja Wang

Gautier Capuçon and Yuja Wang play Grieg's Cello sonata in A minor