Liszt – Piano Sonata in B Minor – Yuja Wang

The Piano Sonata in B minor is a sonata for solo piano by Franz Liszt. It was completed in 1853 and published in 1854 with a dedication to Robert Schumann in return for his dedication of his Fantasie in C Major, Op. 17 (published 1839) to Liszt. It took a long time for the Sonata to become commonplace in concert repertoire, because of its technical difficulty and negative initial reception due to its status as “new” music. However by the early stages of the twentieth century, the piece had become established as a pinnacle of Liszt’s repertoire and has been a popularly performed and extensively analyzed piece ever since. – Yuja Wang

Liszt by Wang

Feux Follets

Transcendental Etude No. 5 in B-Flat Major

Liszt - Transcendental Étude No 5, Feux Follets - Wang, Piano

La Leggierezza

Etude de Concert No. 2 in F Minor

Yuja Wang plays La Leggiereza, one of Franz Liszt's Three Concert Etudes for piano

Sonata in B Minor: Other Performance

Martha Argerich

More videos with Martha Argerich

Liszt - Piano Sonata in B Minor - Argerich, Piano

Hélène Grimaud

More videos with Hélène Grimaud

Liszt - Piano Sonata in B Minor - Grimaud, Piano