Liszt – Sonata in B Minor – Martha Argerich, Piano

The Piano Sonata in B minor is a sonata for solo piano by Franz Liszt. It was completed in 1853 and published in 1854 with a dedication to Robert Schumann in return for his dedication of his Fantasie in C major, Op. 17 (published 1839) to Liszt. It took a long time for the Sonata to become commonplace in concert repertoire, because of its technical difficulty and negative initial reception due to its status as “new” music. However by the early stages of the twentieth century, the piece had become established as a pinnacle of Liszt’s repertoire and has been a popularly performed and extensively analyzed piece ever since. – Martha Argerich

Liszt by Argerich

La Leggerezza

Etude de Concert No. 2 in F Minor

Martha Argerich plays La Leggereza, one of Franz Liszt's Three Concert Etudes for piano

Rhapsody No. 6

Hungarian Rhapsody No. 6 in D Minor

Martha Argerich plays Franz Liszt's Hungarian Rhapsody No 6

Sonata in B Minor: Other Performances

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos with Vladimir Horowitz

Liszt - Sonata in B Minor - Horowitz, Piano

Yuja Wang

More videos with Yuja Wang

Liszt - Piano Sonata in B Minor - Wang, Piano

Hélène Grimaud

More videos with Hélène Grimaud

Liszt - Piano Sonata in B Minor - Grimaud, Piano