Ravel – Sonatine – Martha Argerich, Piano

Sonatine is a piano work written by Maurice Ravel. Although Ravel wrote in his autobiography that he wrote the sonatina after his piano suite Miroirs, it seems to have been written between 1903 and 1905. He most likely referred to the dates he finished both of the works. Ravel wrote the first movement of the Sonatine for a competition sponsored by the Weekly Critical Review magazine after being encouraged by a close friend who was a contributor to that publication. The competition requirement was the composition of the first movement of a piano sonatina no longer than 75 bars, with the prize being 100 francs. – Martha Argerich

Ravel by Argerich

Water Games

Jeux d’Eau in E Major

Martha Argerich plays Ravel's Jeux d'eau


Gaspard de la Nuit, 3rd movement

Ravel - Scarbo - Argerich, Piano


Piano Concerto in G Major

Ravel - Piano Concerto in G Major - Argerich, Piano

Sonatine: Other Performance

Maurice Ravel