Schumann – Kreisleriana V (Sehr Lebhaft) – Grimaud, Piano

Kreisleriana, Op. 16, is a composition in eight movements by Robert Schumann for solo piano, subtitled Phantasien für das Pianoforte. It was written in only four days in April 1838 and a revised version appeared in 1850. In 1839, soon after publishing it, Schumann called it in a letter my favorite work, remarking that The title conveys nothing to any but Germans. The work’s title was inspired by the character of Johannes Kreisler from works of E. T. A. Hoffmann. Like the kaleidoscopic Kreisler, each number has multiple contrasting sections, resembling the imaginary musician’s manic-depression, and recalling Schumann’s own Florestan and Eusebius, the two characters Schumann used to indicate his own contrasting impulsive and dreamy sides. – Hélène Grimaud

Kreisleriana by Grimaud

I : Auberst Bewegt

Schumann - Kreisleriana I (Auberst Bewegt) - Grimaud, Piano

II. Sehr Inning Und Nicht Zu Rasch

Schumann - Kreisleriana II (Sehr Inning Und Nicht Zu Rasch) - Grimaud, Piano

III. Sehr Aufgeregt

Schumann - Kreisleriana III (Sehr Aufgeregt) - Grimaud, Piano

IV. Sehr Langsam

Schumann - Kreisleriana IV (Sehr Langsam) - Grimaud, Piano

VI. Sehr Langsam

Schumann - Kreisleriana VI (Sehr Langsam) - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

VII. Sehr Rasch

Schumann - Kreisleriana VII (Sehr Rasch) - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

VIII. Schnell Und Spielend

Schumann - Kreisleriana VIII (Schnell Und Spielend) - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Schumann by Grimaud

Piano Concerto

Piano Concerto in A Minor

Schumann - Piano Concerto in A Minor - Grimaud, Piano

Piano Quintet

Piano Quintet in E-Flat Major

Schumann - Piano Quintet - Grimaud, Capuçon, Shoji, Tomter, Maisky