Shostakovich – Piano and Trumpet Concerto No. 1 – Argerich

The Piano and Trumpet Concerto No. 1 in C Minor, Op. 35, was completed by Dmitri Shostakovich in 1933. The concerto was an experimentation with a neo-baroque combination of instruments. Despite the title, the work might more accurately be classified as a double concerto rather than a piano concerto in which the trumpet and piano command equal prominence. The concerto was premiered on 15 October 1933 in the season opening concerts of the Leningrad Philharmonic Orchestra with Shostakovich at the piano, Fritz Stiedry conducting, and Alexander Schmidt playing the trumpet solos. – Martha Argerich

Shostakovich by Argerich


Quintet in G Minor

Argerich, Bashmet, Maisky, Kraggerud, Bell play Shostakovich's Quintet

Piano and Trumpet Concerto No. 1: Other Performance

Yuja Wang

More videos with Yuja Wang

Shostakovich - Concerto No 1 for Piano and Trumpet - Yuja Wang, Piano

Russian Music by Argerich

Prokofiev – Concerto No. 3

Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major

Prokofiev - Piano Concerto No 3 in C Major - Argerich, Piano