Beethoven – Piano Sonata No. 28 – Martha Argerich

Beethoven’s Piano Sonata No. 28 in A major, Op. 101, was written in 1816 and was dedicated to the pianist Baroness Dorothea Ertmann, née Graumen. This sonata marks the beginning of what is generally regarded as Ludwig van Beethoven‘s final period, where the forms are more complex, ideas more wide-ranging, textures more polyphonic, and the treatment of the themes and motifs even more sophisticated than before. Op. 101 well exemplified this new style, and Beethoven exploits the newly expanded keyboard compass of the day. – Martha Argerich

Beethoven by Argerich

Waldstein Sonata

Piano Sonata No. 21 in C Major

Beethoven - Piano Sonata No 21 in C Major (Waldstein) - Argerich, Piano

Concerto No. 1

Piano Concerto No. 1 in C Major

Beethoven - Piano Concerto No 1 - Argerich (8 years old), Piano

Spring Sonata

Violin Sonata No. 5 in F Major

The violinist Gidon Kremer and the pianist Martha Argerich play the first movement of Beethoven's Violin Sonata No 5 in F major

Sonata No. 28: Other Performance

Vladimir Horowitz

More videos by Vladimir Horowitz

Beethoven - Sonata No. 28 - Vladimir Horowitz, Piano

Hélène Grimaud

More videos by Hélène Grimaud

Beethoven - Piano Sonata No. 28 in A Major - Hélène Grimaud, Piano