Brahms – Piano Sonata No. 3 (3st mov) – Grimaud

The Piano Sonata No 3 in F minor, Op. 5 of Johannes Brahms was written in 1853 and published the following year. The sonata is unusually large, consisting of five movements, as opposed to the traditional three or four. When he wrote this piano sonata, the genre was seen by many to be past its heyday. Brahms, enamored of Beethoven, composed Piano Sonata No. 3 with a masterful combination of free Romantic spirit and strict classical architecture. As a further testament to Brahms’ affinity for Beethoven, the Piano Sonata is infused with the instantly recognizable motive from Beethoven’s Symphony No. 5 during the first, third, and fourth movements. – Hélène Grimaud

Brahms by Grimaud

Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 2 in B-Flat Minor

Brahms - Intermezzo Op 117 No 2 - Hélène Grimaud, Piano

Concerto No. 1

Piano Concerto No. 1 in D Minor

Brahms - Piano Concerto No 1 - Grimaud, Piano

Concerto No. 2

Piano Concerto No. 2 in B-Flat Major

Brahms - Piano Concerto No 2 - Grimaud, Piano

Sonata No. 3: Other Performance

Radu Lupu