Liszt – La Leggierezza – Yuja Wang, Piano

La Leggierezza (meaning “lightness”) is the second from Franz Liszt‘s Three Concert Etudes . It is a monothematic piece in F minor with a very simple melodic line for each hand under an unusual Quasi allegretto tempo marking, usually ignored in favor of something slightly more frenetic. It starts with a fast but delicate sixteen chromatic-note arpeggio divided in thirds and sixths under an irregular rhythmic subdivision and cadenza so as to underline the atmosphere implied in its title. – Yuja Wang

Liszt by Yuja Wang

Feux Follets

Transcendental Etude No. 5 in B-Flat Major, Feux Follets

Liszt - Transcendental Étude No. 5, Feux Follets - Wang, Piano


Piano Sonata in B Minor

Liszt - Piano Sonata in B Minor - Wang, Piano

La Leggierezza: Other Version

Martha Argerich

Martha Argerich plays La Leggereza, one of Franz Liszt's Three Concert Etudes for piano

Khatia Buniatishvili

Liszt – La Leggierezza - Khatia Buniatishvili, Piano