Ravel – Piano Concerto in G Major – Hélène Grimaud

Ravel’s Piano Concerto in G major was composed between 1929 and 1931. The concerto is in three movements and  was deeply infused with jazz idioms and harmonies, which, at the time, were highly popular in Paris as well as the United States, where Ravel was traveling on a piano tour. Maurice Ravel remarked that “The most captivating part of jazz is its rich and diverting rhythm. … Jazz is a very rich and vital source of inspiration for modern composers and I am astonished that so few Americans are influenced by it.” The premiere was on January 14, 1932, with Ravel conducting the Orchestre Lamoureux and Marguerite Long playing the piano.

Ravel by Grimaud

Water Games

Ravel - Jeux d'Eau in E Major - Grimaud, Piano
Jeux d’Eau in E Major

French Music by Grimaud

Debussy’s Moonlight

Debussy - Clair de Lune (Moonlight)- Grimaud, Piano
Suite Bergamasque No. 3, Clair de Lune

Satie’s Gnossienne No 1

Satie - Gnossienne No 1 - Hélène Grimaud, Piano
Gnossienne No. 1

Concerto in G Major: Others Performances


Ravel - Piano Concerto in G Major - Argerich, Piano
Martha Argerich


Ravel - Piano Concerto in G Major - Wang, Piano
Yuja Wang

Hélène New Videos

Hélène Grimaud
Hélène Grimaud New Videos, official links (website, social medias) and biography