Schubert-Liszt – Gretchen am Spinnrade – Buniatishvili, Piano

Gretchen am Spinnrade (Gretchen at the Spinning Wheel), Op. 2, D 118, is a Lied composed by Franz Schubert using the text from Part One, scene 18 of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe’s Faust. It was originally composed for the soprano voice, but it has also been transposed to accommodate mezzo-sopranos and other voice types. Schubert completed Gretchen am Spinnrade in October 1814, three months before his eighteenth birthday. – Khatia Buniatishvili

Other Schubert’s Works by Khatia Buniatishvili



Schubert-Liszt - Ständchen (Serenade) - Buniatishvili, Piano

Impromptu Op. 90 No. 3

Impromptu No. 3 in G-Flat Major

Schubert - Impromptu Op 90 No 3 in G-Flat Major - Buniatishvili, Piano


Four Hands Fantasia in F Minor

Schubert - Fantasia in F Minor - Khatia and Gvantsa Buniatishvili, Piano

Violin Sonata No. 4

Violin Sonata No. 4 in A Major (Batiashvili, Buniatishvili)

Schubert - Violin Sonata No 4 (Grand Duo) - Buniatishvili, Piano; Batiashvili, Violin

Gretchen am Spinnrade: Other Performance

Yuja Wang

More videos with Yuja Wang

Schubert-Liszt - Gretchen am Spinnrade - Wang, Piano